Torah Reading

Practice Torah readings --
From an image of the Torah you'll be using!

  • To find your reading, scroll down and click on the link for your date that includes the number of your reading (there are usually 7 readings and a maftir on Shabbat; fewer for other days.) See the note at the bottom of the page to help decode filenames and find your reading.
  • To see Torah Portions with and without vowels (online Tikkun), go here.
  • To join the CBE leyning list, contact Claire Fine.
  • Learning Torah Trope? Here are recordings to help.
  • NOTE: These files are meant to be used on the computer; if you do print them please be sure to bring printouts to the CBE office or Religious School office for proper disposal in a Geniza.

Upcoming Torah Readings

 

Saturday, October 5, 2019, 9 AM

Wednesday, October 9, 2018, 8:30 AM - Yom Kippur Morning

Wednesday, October 9, 2018, 2018, 5:30 PM - Yom Kippur Mincha

Saturday, October 12, 2019, 9 AM

Monday October 14, 2019, 9:00 AM Sukkot Day 1

Tuesday October 15, 2019, 9:00 AM ​Sukkot Day 2

Saturday, October 19, 2019, 9:00 AM Shabbat Hol Hamoed Sukkot

Sunday, October 20 , 2019, 9:00 AM Hoshanah Rabah

Monday, October 21 , 2019, 9:00 AM Shimini Atzeret

Tuesday October 22, 2019, 9:00 AM Simhat Torah

Saturday, October 26, 2019, 9:00 AM Shabbat Bereishit, P'ru Urvu

Saturday, November 2, 2019, 9:00 AM Shabbat Noach

Saturday, November 9, 2019, 9:00 AM Shabbat Lech Lecha, Adult Bnai Mitzvah

Saturday, November 16, 2019, 9:00 AM Shabbat Vayera, B’Yahad

Saturday, November 23, 2019, 9:00 AM Shabbat Chayei Sara

Saturday, November 30, 2019, 9:00 AM Shabbat Toldot

Saturday, December 7, 2019, Shabbat Vayetzei

Saturday, December 14, 2019, 9:00 AM Shabbat Vayishlach

Saturday, December 21, 2019, 9:00 AM Shabbat Vayeshev

Saturday, December 28, 2019, 9:00 AM ​Shabbat Miketz – Rosh Hodesh

Don't see your date above? If you are practicing ahead and your portion is not indexed here yet, you can find it on one of the sub-pages which contain links to all the photos for each Torah. Make sure to ask the leyning coordinator or your tutor which torah you'll be using.


NOTES:

* Filenames: Once you open the correct photo using the links above, understanding the photo's filename may help you find where your reading starts in the photo.

In the Cerny and Etz Chayim Torahs, filenames indicate the page numbers in the Ktav Tikkun, where you can find verse numbers corresponding to your reading. (Note: in some cases there is a small difference between where the Torah "paginates" vs the Tikkun.)

In our other Torahs, the columns do not correspond well with the pages in the Tikkun. Therefore a naming convention has been used for these photo files, indicating the first and last complete verses included in the photo. This is explained below.

** If more than one file is listed for your reading, check with the Leyning Coordinator to find out which Torah scroll you'll be reading from (sometimes we don't know too far in advance.)